Back to Top
Suicide Prevention Australia on Facebook Suicide Prevention Australia on Twitter Suicide Prevention Australia on Linkedin
Message from the Conference Organising Committee

We are delighted to announce that the 2016 location for the National Suicide Prevention Conference is Canberra, ACT. Mark your calendar for 24-27 July 2016 to join your colleagues for the premier, multidisciplinary, educational event in the suicide prevention sector. The National Suicide Prevention Conference provides a platform for the exchange of ideas to help achieve our agenda of halving suicides in Australia over the next ten years.

Subscribe to our e-Newsletter so you don't miss the big announcement.

Associate Professor Myf Maple
Chair, Program Advisory Committee

download app

Program Advisory Committee

Ms De Backman-Hoyle
Dr Phil Batterham
Ms Jill Fisher
Ms Jacinta Hawgood
Ms Nikki Kelso
Associate Professor Myf Maple (Chair)
Ms Sue Murray
Ms Ngaree Ah Kit
Professor David Perkins
Ms Jo Robinson
Ms Kylie Stothers
Mr Alan Woodward
Ms Alison Xamon

About the Conference

Suicide Prevention Australia Chairman Murray Bleach says of conference plans, "We are very excited to host the conference in Canberra this year following an excellent 2015 conference supported by our friends in Hobart, Tasmania. This is not only a chance to get together and challenge each other on what works and what doesn't in suicide prevention, but a fantastic opportunity to raise the profile of our shared priorities with political leaders in our nation’s capital.”

Suicide Prevention Australia (SPA) presents the annual National Suicide Prevention Conference to benefit those who are working in, and supported by, suicide prevention programs. Attracting almost 400 delegates, the conference is recognised by governments, sector leaders and people with lived experience as an important vehicle for ensuring that those with responsibility for delivering services, are able to provide the best available support to those who are vulnerable, at-risk and/or disenfranchised in a timely and effective manner.

Aims of the Conference

  • Increase sector commitment to participate in a collaborative approach to suicide prevention
  • Enhance community participation in suicide prevention activities
  • Facilitate the continuation and development of quality suicide prevention initiatives

Key Elements of the Conference

  • Plenary sessions showcasing the best work from around the globe and in Australia. Each plenary will have well-defined topics and presenters with relevant knowledge and experience.
  • Recognising the importance of the voice of lived experience, the Program will have strong representation from people with a lived experience of suicide.
  • Abstract presentations highlighting the intersection of Research, Policy, Practice and Lived Experience.
  • LiFE Awards ceremony
  • Pre-conference and post conference workshops
  • Members & Delegates forum

Who will Attend?

The demographic of the delegates will be broad and extend to all facets of the suicide prevention and mental health sectors.

Allied Health Professionals
Community representatives
Educations Institutions
Emergency Service/Defence/Police/Volunteer personnel
General Practitioners
Health Professionals

Non-Government Organisations
Policy Makers
Private Health Services
Private Practitioners
Public Health Services
Social Workers
Workers in the Provision of Rural Mental Health Services
People with Lived Experience of Suicide*

*Suicide Prevention Australia defines a lived experience of suicide as having experienced suicidal thoughts, survived a suicide attempt, cared for someone who has attempted suicide, been bereaved by suicide, or having been touched by suicide in another way.

Suicide Prevention Australia remembers those we have lost to suicide and acknowledges the suffering suicide brings when it touches our lives. We are brought together by experience and unified by hope.