Announcement of additional suicide prevention trial sites

7 February 2017

On ABC's 7.30 program this week, The Hon. Greg Hunt MP Federal Minister for Health announced four more sites for suicide prevention trials.

Suicide Prevention Australia welcomed the announcement of four more regional suicide prevention trial sites as part of the Federal Government's commitment to 12 trial sites. View the announcement.

CEO Sue Murray says of the announcement , "This shows a genuine commitment to suicide prevention and locally led, community driven approaches to health and wellbeing. These innovative regional projects must now be supported by national leadership and strategy alongside accountability targets and sustainable funding.

These trials alongside wider work being commissioned by Primary Health Networks and the innovative research project being run by SPA Member Black Dog Institute known as the LifeSpan Project give us the opportunity to work in a more agile way in this sector. Lives depend on us sharing what works and what doesn't from region to region in a more timely and effective manner."

​The Federal Government’s 12 regional suicide prevention trial sites have now been announced, and include:

•    Western New South Wales*
•    Central Queensland*
•    Darwin*
•    Geraldton region in Western Australia*
•    Brisbane North
•    North Coast NSW
•    North Western Melbourne
•    Perth South
•    Townsville
•    The Kimberley
•    Tasmania 
•    Country South Australia.

*announced last night

This LifeSpan systems approach to suicide prevention model will be trialled in four locations in NSW. That is, Newcastle, Illawarra Shoalhaven, Central Coast and Murrumbidgee.

INTERVIEWS: To request an interview, please contact 02 9262 1130.