Greg Hunt named as new Health Minister

18 January 2017

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has today named Greg Hunt as the new Health Minister in the wake of Sussan Ley's resignation.

Read the Media Release.

Senator Arthur Sinodinos will take over as Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science with Ken Wyatt becoming minister for aged care and indigenous health, making him the first indigenous federal minister. Michael Sukkar will be assistant minister to the treasurer.

The new ministers will be sworn in by Suicide Prevention Australian Patron Governor-General Peter Cosgrove on Tuesday.

Many congratulations to the new ministers. SPA and its Members look forward to working closely with them on suicide prevention priorities.

We would also like to acknowledge the contribution of outgoing Health Minister, Sussan Ley MP. As Minister, Ms Ley actioned recommendations from the National Mental Health Commission review that is bringing about significant changes in the way suicide prevention is delivered, committed Government to a dedicated research fund for suicide prevention and ensured that suicide prevention  is a priority area in the 5th Mental Health Plan.

SPA Chief Executive Sue Murray remains in regular contact with the Department of Health in relation to the anticipated announcements on national suicide prevention funding expected early in the new year.