Launch of first Parliamentary Friends of Suicide Prevention group

1 March 2017

The Suicide Prevention Australia Board was honoured to stand with MPs Julien Leeser and Dr Mike Kelly to launch the first Parliamentary Friends for Suicide Prevention group. This is a group that, regardless of political orientation or agenda, have come together to unite as one to think through what they can contribute to preventing suicide, a public health issue that is very personal to each and every one of them. 

Our warmest thanks to the Prime Minister and Minister Hunt for supporting this initiative; also to Kevin Figueiredo, General Manager, Safety & Health, Woolworths and David Covington (RI International) for their kind support and words at the dinner to formally launch the group.

The Suicide Prevention Australia Board, Members and team look forward to working with this group to progress suicide prevention in Australia. Founding members of this group include:

  • Julian Leeser MP – LP, NSW (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Mike Kelly AM MP – ALP, NSW (Co-Chair)
  • Senator Claire Moore
  • Ross Hart MP
  • Andrew Laming MP
  • Luke Gosling OAM MP
  • David Littleproud MP
  • Senator Helen Polley
  • Tony Zappia MP
  • Dr John McVeigh MP
  • Justine Keay MP
  • Kevin Hogan MP
  • Senator Rachel Siewert
  • Senator Carol Brown
  • Andrew Hastie MP
  • Tony Pasin MP
  • Joel Fitzgibbon MP
  • Graham Perrett MP
  • Minister The Hon Darren Chester MP
  • Assistant Minister The Hon Karen Andrews MP
  • Matt Keogh MP
  • Chris Crewther MP
  • Susan Templeman MP
  • Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP
  • Senator Skye Kakoschke-Moore
  • Tim Wilson MP
  • Sharon Bird MP
  • Trevor Evans MP
  • Minister The Hon Senator Simon Birmingham
  • Minister The Hon Kelly O'Dwyer MP
  • Cathy O'Toole MP
  • Dr Mike Freelander MP
  • Ben Morton MP
  • Senator Scott Ryan
  • Senator Sarah Hanson-Young
  • Ann Sudmalis MP