SPA CEO on Suicide Prevention Australia AGM and announcement of New Chair

29 November 2017

It was great to see some of our Members at the Suicide Prevention Australia AGM yesterday, and have some of you attend by phone. For those who couldn’t make it, I’m pleased to report that the Chair & CEO’s reports were received, as were the financial reports.

The Annual Review and the financial report are now both on our website. Stay tuned for a link to our 25th Anniversary book coming to your inboxes next week.

In my update, some of the achievements and challenges I reported on included:

  • Increasing SPA’s voice with governments, media and the community, particularly around the 2016 election commitments, the National Strategic Framework and World Suicide Prevention Day
  • Member recruitment and retention including for the National Lived Experience Network
  • Quality improvement in suicide prevention, such as through the National Conference, the Zero Suicides in Healthcare movement and the National Research Action Plan.

I also noted some of SPA’s key priorities for the coming year, as informed by Members, such as:

  • The Fifth Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan implementation strategy
  • Delivering the Suicide Prevention Hub, including Guidelines and Standards for quality, evidence-based suicide prevention programs and services
  • Management of coordinated, priorities-based research through the National Suicide Prevention Fund.

Last, but certainly not least, Director Murray Bleach stepped down as Chair and Director Matthew Tukaki has been elected Chair.

Read the Media Release.

We are pleased that Murray will continue to provide his steady stewardship as an Independent Director of the Board. Given his new responsibilities, we are also pleased to announce that Board Director Dr Vanessa Lee will now be Chairing the LiFE Awards Committee.

Warm Regards,

Sue Murray, CEO


29 November 2017
National leadership body, Suicide Prevention Australia, today announced a change in leadership. Suicide Prevention Australia Chair since 2011, Murray Bleach, stepped down from the position, handing over the reins to existing Board Director, Matthew Tukaki.
22 November 2017