Research Grants

The Suicide Prevention Research Fund was established by the Federal Government to support research into suicide prevention. The aim of the fund is to support world-class Australian research, and facilitate the rapid translation of knowledge into more effective services for individuals, families and communities.

Suicide Prevention Australia manages the fund on behalf of the Federal Government. The Research Advisory Committee, chaired by Professor Don Nutbeam, guides the work of the fund with the support of expert researchers, service providers and people with lived experience of suicide.

The Suicide Prevention Research Fund also aims to address gaps in suicide prevention research. You can find out more about current gaps in research here.

Members of the Research Advisory Committee include:

  • Chair – Professor Don Nutbeam
  • Deputy Chair – Professor Myf Maple, School of Health, University of New England
  • Ingrid Ozols AM, mh@work
  • Dr Jaelea Skehan, Everymind
  • Dr Alicia McCoy, beyondblue
  • Professor David Crompton OAM, Australian Institute for Suicide Research and Prevention
  • Professor Jane Pirkis, National Research Coordination, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Jo Robinson, Orygen
  • Martina McGrath, Roses in the Ocean
  • Dr Zac Seidler, Movember & Orygen

The Suicide Prevention Research Fund supports several kinds of grants. You can find out more about the types of grants here:

Grants Calendar

GrantApplication PeriodStatus
Targeted Research GrantsClosing Thursday 26 November 2020Open Now
PhD ScholarshipClosing Thursday 15 October 2020Closed

Register your interest in research grant opportunities